When rocks and fists matter…

If world history isn’t evident enough, the current events in Iran should prove to us that there are two essentials to humanity: Freedom and Voice…

In following the history-making protests that occupy our global media this week, I have found myself reminded of one thing, while wondering about another.

I’ve been reminded that the human spirit can’t live in fear or oppression forever.  All of humanity are created to be free!  Iran is a perfect example of this as hundreds of thousands are running to the streets in protest of the current election results. 

stone

While I can’t exactly support rock throwing, or any form of violence…I love the fact that freedom in Iran is being talked about more than nuclear weapons, which not only fuels fear in the minds or the people of Iran, but here in the U.S.! 

While I’ve been reminded of freedom, I’m also wondering why America has become so quiet.  Why is it that the democratic nations are often the most quiet and last to protest? What has happened to our voice?  What might we learn from the people of Iran as they raise their fists and speak their voice?

voice

I find myself both confused by what’s happening in Iran, and yet challenged by it…

Love and Peace.

2 responses to “When rocks and fists matter…

  1. On this fourth of July week I thinkg it would be a good idea to re-read the declaration of indepence. I think this helps put the events in I ran in perspective.

    http://www.ushistory.org/Declaration/document/index.htm)

  2. Having read this I thought it was extremely enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this short article together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much time
    both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

