How we view the Bible matters

How do you view the Bible?

A manuscript of nothing more than old-school laws and senseless stories?

Something that was forced upon you as a child?

God’s perfect Word?

A sword?

A book written by people in their day, and in their own way while  under the guidance of the Holy Spirit?

Everyone has some sort of a view when they see, touch or read a Bible.  But not all views are healthy or even correct.

This past Sunday at Redwood Hills we began a new teaching series as we try an engage with the Scriptures as God’s unfolding story for his creation.  Why a series of this?  Because many of us who read the Bible often find ourselves asking the question…”what am I supposed to do with this?”  While we can’t possibly answer that in a four week series, I think we can build a good foundation.

One of the most common questions people ask me as a pastor is, which translation is best to read?  It’s a good question as there are plenty of them to choose from today.  In fact, Scot McNight is blogging right now on how Christians are becoming way too tribal in their view of the Bible.  You can read part 1 HERE and part 2 HERE.  He’s an authority on the Bible and shares some wisdom that we should pay attention to.

It’s funny that last week two people asked me about translations and I referred them both to try out the TNIV.  The next day Zondervan (the TNIV publisher) announced they will no longer print it and that they were too gender-inclusive with their translation of the original languages.  Personally, I think we can find fault in every translation and their announcement came as bad news to me.

Sometimes you have to just let the Bible be the Bible.

If you happen to be in a place where the Bible is something you desire to read more of, or would like to understand it better as God’s story and not just a book of laws, blessings, and promises…then I recommend taking a peek into some of these resources which might help you along your journey.  Or if you want, take a listen to our podcasts as we talk about how we view the Bible, the importance of listening to the Bible, and living the story of the Bible in the 21st century.

Blue Parakeet: Re-Thinking How We Read the Bible, by Scot McNight

How to Read the Bible for All its Worth, by Gordon Fee

The Mission of God: Unlocking the Bible’s Grand Narrative, by Christopher Wright

Out of the Question.. Into the Mystery: Getting Lost in the God-Life Relationship, by Len Sweet

 

By your words I can see where I’m going; they throw a beam of light on my dark path. Psalm 119:105 (The Message)

Love and Peace.

One response to “How we view the Bible matters

  1. This is a great blog Rex. I have been struggling with reading the Bible lately. I have been lacking the hunger and excitement of reading it. And sometimes I think I am reading it because I am suppose to. But I really want more than that. I do want to know the Bible and experience it for all God intended it to be. Which of the above books would you most recommend? Sorry for the rant. This just really struck a chord with me.

Leave a Reply

